Notices
 

Thread: Aqua Reef of Red Sea Max

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. Aqua Reef of Red Sea Max 
    #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire
    Posts
    304
    Hi all, after about 2 years out of the hobby I am looking to set up a new aquarium. The red sex max 250 has always interested me but after a bit of research I feel the are very expensive for what they are. So I have been looking at the aqua reef 300, which i'm yet to find a bad report about, (apart from leaking pipe issues).
    I want to keep sps with a few lps, so my question is, would the aqua reef 300 be a better tank as it is bigger, has a sump and is cheaper. Also what modifications would I need to make to keep sps?
    Any advice would be fantastic.
    Many thanks in advance
     

  2.  
    #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Eynsham, Oxfordshire
    Posts
    432
    I would go for the Aquareef tank if I was you it will give you more options for the future like adding a reactor in the sump.
    Last edited by pac882000; 01-09-13 at 09:17.
     

  3.  
    #3
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Lincs
    Posts
    8
    I have an AR400, it works and looks great. The sump is a huge advantage. I also have a RSM130d. The finish is better but I would go aquareef every time!
     

  4.  
    #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire
    Posts
    304
    Quote Originally Posted by pac882000 View Post
    I would go for the Aquareef tank if I was you it will give you more options for the future like adding a reactor in the sump.
    Yeah, I suppose I would have a lot more flexibility with a sump

    What about lighting? Would I be able to keep the t5's or would I have to upgrade to something better. (The mrs is adamant I have to keep a lid on the tank)
     

  5.  
    #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire
    Posts
    304
    Quote Originally Posted by monsterlockey View Post
    I have an AR400, it works and looks great. The sump is a huge advantage. I also have a RSM130d. The finish is better but I would go aquareef every time!
    Thanks man, I do love the look of the RSM.
     

  6.  
    #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    oxford
    Posts
    866
    Hi, I have the aqua reef 195, so a little smaller than the one your looking at but same equipment.

    I'm keeping a mixed reef of mainly LPS and SPS, with a couple of softies here and there.

    I changed out the t5 lights for LEDs, I went down the aquarays route, as I didn't think the originals would be up to it. Also for flow I added a mp10, and thn the other thing I did was change out the stock skimmer for a bubble Magnus that sits in the sump.

    That started me off well and I've also added an auto top up (definitely the item that made most diff to my system, within 24 hrs every sps had much greater polyp extension), and a small reactor.

    I don't know the Red Sea tank as I've not owned it but with a few minor changes the aqua reefs are a great tank
    Garden of 5 Surprises Pt III Vasquez Rocks- "Its a Bug Hunt"
    http://www.ultimatereef.net/forums/s...d.php?t=686349

    Garden of 5 Surprises Pt IV - Lets Rock !!!!!! - http://www.ultimatereef.net/forums/s...d.php?t=710242

    Garden of 5 Surprises Pt V - Get away from her you Stomapod - http://www.ultimatereef.net/forums/s...d.php?t=720489
     

  7.  
    #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    L I N C O L N S H I R E ~ home of the Yellow Bellys
    Posts
    3,818
    Firstly, I admit to being a biased AR300 owner.

    Both are excellent tanks with the Red Sea more plug and play then the Aquareef. Not having a sump and being limited in what you can do with reactors and other equipment in the Red Sea was the reason I chose the Aquareef. If you go for the Aqua reef you will probably end up upgrading some bits sooner or later. I have changed the skimmer and lights, also added a phos reactor and atc1000.

    At the end of the day both are good tanks.
     

  8.  
    #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    oxford
    Posts
    866
    Quote Originally Posted by Volitans13 View Post
    Yeah, I suppose I would have a lot more flexibility with a sump

    What about lighting? Would I be able to keep the t5's or would I have to upgrade to something better. (The mrs is adamant I have to keep a lid on the tank)
    I built a lid and screwed my aquarays to it, and I have no woodwork skills what so ever

    But it definitely works
    Last edited by Kinnaaa; 01-09-13 at 09:27. Reason: Stupid iPad spellchecker
    Garden of 5 Surprises Pt III Vasquez Rocks- "Its a Bug Hunt"
    http://www.ultimatereef.net/forums/s...d.php?t=686349

    Garden of 5 Surprises Pt IV - Lets Rock !!!!!! - http://www.ultimatereef.net/forums/s...d.php?t=710242

    Garden of 5 Surprises Pt V - Get away from her you Stomapod - http://www.ultimatereef.net/forums/s...d.php?t=720489
     

  9.  
    #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire
    Posts
    304
    Thanks for the comments guys, this is starting to look a little one sided
     

  10.  
    #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire
    Posts
    304
    Quote Originally Posted by Kinnaaa View Post
    I built a lid and screwed my aquarays to it, and I have no woodwork skills what so ever

    But it definitely works
    I am a carpenter by trade so I should manage
     

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Aqua One ProSkim G220 Skimmer Aqua Reef 300/400
    By Wayne 616 in forum Help and Advice
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: Yesterday, 08:43
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •