UltimateReef.com

Go Back   UltimateReef.com > Community > Help and Advice

Help and Advice New to Marines? Ask all your questions for a friendly response

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13-04-12, 11:38
Sadgit1971's Avatar
Sadgit1971 Sadgit1971 is offline
Triggerfish
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Middlesbrough
Posts: 1,036
Brown sand and dead corals....

Hello.

I am getting a tad sick at the moment.. The tank was looking great and everything was looking healthy and nice until last week. My Hystrix stripped and died, the sand started to turn brown my hammer started to bail and yesterday my lovely torch has decided to bail as well.

I've done 3 x 10% water changed in the last week I run rowphos in a reactor and I have filter floss in the sump.

The light is an ATI sunpower 8x24w with 2 month old bulbs, 2 power heads tunze 6095 and 6045... I am at a total loss.. any ideas please?

Temperature - 25.7
PH - 8.3
Amonia - 0
Nitrite - 0.01
Nitrate - 2.5
Salinity 37
Phos - <0.03
Mag - 1230
Alk - 7.2
Calcium - 420

cheers
Mark









__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13-04-12, 11:40
t3l3c0n's Avatar
t3l3c0n t3l3c0n is offline
Clownfish
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Preston
Posts: 417
How long has your tank been running? The brown stuff looks like diatoms.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13-04-12, 11:41
Sadgit1971's Avatar
Sadgit1971 Sadgit1971 is offline
Triggerfish
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Middlesbrough
Posts: 1,036
been running over 2 years now
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13-04-12, 11:42
JeremyGelber's Avatar
JeremyGelber JeremyGelber is online now
Global Moderator
+ Help Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London, NW3
Posts: 6,257
+1 diatoms or possibly cyano. Do you have a separate PO4 kit you can retest on because if you ARE <0.03 then that diagnosis may not be quite right. Equally, the diatoms / cyano have now bound up your PO4 so the test kit gives a "false" read. Either way, try changing the Rowaphos or run more of it.
__________________
My tank thread: http://www.ultimatereef.net/forums/s...d.php?t=530211

New to the site, new to reefkeeping or have a problem you can't get an answer to? Any Member can use the services of the Help Team you don't have to be new. The Help Team is a hand selected group of experienced volunteers all ready and willing to help out with all problems, be that reef or site related. No question goes unanswered, welcome to UltimateReef. Introduce yourself HERE, a warm welcome awaits. Ask for help and advice HERE.Want to read some great beginners articles? try HERE. To make use of our free private mentoring service, Help Team Confidential just post HERE.


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13-04-12, 11:47
Thalamus's Avatar
Thalamus Thalamus is offline
Clownfish
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Posts: 419
To get rid of diatoms, you need to get rid of the silicates in your water. Since diatoms are consuming the silicates, you can simply remove the diatoms from the water and the problem should eventually go away.

It's all about time.

The diatoms are suffocating your corals.

HTH
__________________
"How ever much you think your tank setup will cost.... triple it..... twice"

THE Tank Build - My Rena 450 Marine Conversion


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13-04-12, 11:58
Sadgit1971's Avatar
Sadgit1971 Sadgit1971 is offline
Triggerfish
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Middlesbrough
Posts: 1,036
thanks guys, so try changing the rowaphos? has been in for about 3 weeks. I don't have another test kit, so guess I should buy one.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13-04-12, 12:07
MikeBuzz's Avatar
MikeBuzz MikeBuzz is offline
Octopus
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Gillingham, Kent, UK
Posts: 3,388
Whats the TDS of your RO water??
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13-04-12, 12:11
Sadgit1971's Avatar
Sadgit1971 Sadgit1971 is offline
Triggerfish
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Middlesbrough
Posts: 1,036
TDS is zero.. checked with 2 TDS meters.. just ordered some new filters for the RO unit just in case.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13-04-12, 12:45
jcmental's Avatar
jcmental jcmental is offline
Angelfish
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Walney Island
Posts: 697
I'm guna ask. Do you think it might your tubes? I changed my about 5 weeks ago to go more blue but since I've changed them my gravel has gone borwner and browner, I even treated last week with that cyano stuff (cant remember the name off hand, blue something I think) but it hasent touched it.
My lights were 2x 50:50 4x 14k now they are 4x 50:50 and 2 blue plus.
But I have to say apart from a bunch of my zoa closing over the last 3 days everything is looking very good invert and live rock wise.

So my question is how old were the tubes you took out before you changed them 2 months ago and did you change the color of them at the same time?
__________________

Last edited by jcmental; 13-04-12 at 12:46. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13-04-12, 12:53
Sadgit1971's Avatar
Sadgit1971 Sadgit1971 is offline
Triggerfish
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Middlesbrough
Posts: 1,036
tubes were changed like for like.. so no difference there.. and it has only happened in the last 2-3 weeks. softies, frogsawn and duncan are fine
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:02.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

UltimateReef.com - the UK's premier online reef keeping community. Bulletin Board & Forum.

Copyright 2001-2011 UltimateReef.com