Go Back   UltimateReef.com > Community > Help and Advice

Help and Advice New to Marines? Ask all your questions for a friendly response

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19-10-09, 01:28
basketcase687's Avatar
basketcase687 basketcase687 is offline
Angelfish
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Newport S.Wales
Posts: 887
Orp

Hi,
I have set the mv unit to 350, when I first connected the ozone the ORP showed 270 so ozone was working for day or two and it went up to 400 but gradually increased to 500 + as it stands right now 550, the ozone has been off for a while. Is this normal? Do I still need to generate ozone once or twice a week? Or I don't need to.
Your advice much appreciated.
Jon
__________________


NEW TANK VIDEO http://youtu.be/RYo-eUbHaqY

OLD TANK VIDEO: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oA15ahOWvww
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19-10-09, 01:42
subz88 subz88 is offline
Triggerfish
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Harrow
Posts: 1,630
Hi Jon, something doesn't quite sound right with the value creeping up like that. If you can answer each of the following questions it will help you get the right advice:

1) Is the probe/ORP unit new, and if not has the probe been cleaned recently?

2) Can the probe be calibrated via the control unit? If so has this been carried out recently?

3) Where is the probe located? Is it near any other electrical equipment?
__________________
Honey, does my aiptasia look big in this??? My tank thread here
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-10-09, 10:07
Rogue's Avatar
Rogue Rogue is offline
Moray Eel
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Telford, Shropshire.
Posts: 2,350
When I first set up Ozone in my tank the mv reading was around the 260 value. I increased the setting on the controller by 10mv every 2 or 3 days to bring it up to 350 slowly. I think you have increased your level too quickly.

As sub has mentioned, accurate calibration is essential. Ideally you need to be using 400mv calibration fluid as this is the range you are looking to run ozone in. Another thing to remember with the orp probe is to let it settle in the sump for at least 72 hours before calibration to allow air bubbles to rise and dissipate from the gel filling of the probe.

Are you dosing this through the skimmer and running carbon on the outflow and skimmer cup vents? I also assume you are running a controller and not just trusting settings on the ozone unit itself?

I would not run any ozone until the level has dropped to your desired reading. You should then be able to keep it there by setting the controller slightly lower than required, eg set at 340mv to maintain 350-360mv
__________________
Regards Paul.

Computer games don't affect kids, I mean if Pac Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching pills and listening to repetitive music.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20-10-09, 00:04
basketcase687's Avatar
basketcase687 basketcase687 is offline
Angelfish
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Newport S.Wales
Posts: 887
Quote:
Originally Posted by subz88 View Post
Hi Jon, something doesn't quite sound right with the value creeping up like that. If you can answer each of the following questions it will help you get the right advice:

1) Is the probe/ORP unit new, and if not has the probe been cleaned recently?

2) Can the probe be calibrated via the control unit? If so has this been carried out recently?

3) Where is the probe located? Is it near any other electrical equipment?


Hi Subz,

1) No I bought it as a second hand how do you clean it? Is there a special way to clean it.

2) Sorry how do you calibrated, the unit is Aquamedic mv computer. No it hasn't.

3) The probe is located in the sump, yes there is pumps and heaters in the sump.

Thanks for your help.
Jon
__________________


NEW TANK VIDEO http://youtu.be/RYo-eUbHaqY

OLD TANK VIDEO: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oA15ahOWvww
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20-10-09, 00:14
basketcase687's Avatar
basketcase687 basketcase687 is offline
Angelfish
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Newport S.Wales
Posts: 887
Quote:
Originally Posted by RogueT View Post
When I first set up Ozone in my tank the mv reading was around the 260 value. I increased the setting on the controller by 10mv every 2 or 3 days to bring it up to 350 slowly. I think you have increased your level too quickly.

As sub has mentioned, accurate calibration is essential. Ideally you need to be using 400mv calibration fluid as this is the range you are looking to run ozone in. Another thing to remember with the orp probe is to let it settle in the sump for at least 72 hours before calibration to allow air bubbles to rise and dissipate from the gel filling of the probe.

Are you dosing this through the skimmer and running carbon on the outflow and skimmer cup vents? I also assume you are running a controller and not just trusting settings on the ozone unit itself?

I would not run any ozone until the level has dropped to your desired reading. You should then be able to keep it there by setting the controller slightly lower than required, eg set at 340mv to maintain 350-360mv
Hi Rogue,
Yes I do run it trough the skimmer and I use carbon on top of the skimmer cup vents. yes I run aquamedic mv computer to control the ozone. to be honest with you I haven't got much knowledge how to calibrate the prob. The guy I bough it from didn't say much about it.
Thanks
Jon
__________________


NEW TANK VIDEO http://youtu.be/RYo-eUbHaqY

OLD TANK VIDEO: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oA15ahOWvww
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20-10-09, 00:33
subz88 subz88 is offline
Triggerfish
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Harrow
Posts: 1,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by basketcase687 View Post
Hi Subz,

1) No I bought it as a second hand how do you clean it? Is there a special way to clean it.

2) Sorry how do you calibrated, the unit is Aquamedic mv computer. No it hasn't.

3) The probe is located in the sump, yes there is pumps and heaters in the sump.

Thanks for your help.
Jon
Hi Jon,

1) For easy cleaning, I leave the probe in a mug containing a solution of diluted thin bleach (I use 50% bleach to 50% Ro water) for five minutes, followed by white vinegar for another ten minutes. Place the probe in RO water afterwards to rinse off any cleansing chemicals. I usually do this once a month for peace of mind that my readings are correct.

2) Which mV computer is it (Aquamedic have two models), does it have a little calibration screw on it? If so get yourself some 400mV calibration solution from your local fish shop if they stock it or from Reefdreams here

3) The problem with ORP probes is they can be sensitive to any electrical equipment, so try as much as possible to keep it as far away from any of the pumps etc.
Also to avoid having the value skewed by the high ORP water that might be coming out of your skimmer, keep the probe away from the output of the skimmer. Ideally try and place it in the weir box so it's out of the way of most of your equipment.
__________________
Honey, does my aiptasia look big in this??? My tank thread here
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20-10-09, 00:48
basketcase687's Avatar
basketcase687 basketcase687 is offline
Angelfish
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Newport S.Wales
Posts: 887
Quote:
Originally Posted by subz88 View Post
Hi Jon,

1) For easy cleaning, I leave the probe in a mug containing a solution of diluted thin bleach (I use 50% bleach to 50% Ro water) for five minutes, followed by white vinegar for another ten minutes. Place the probe in RO water afterwards to rinse off any cleansing chemicals. I usually do this once a month for peace of mind that my readings are correct.

2) Which mV computer is it (Aquamedic have two models), does it have a little calibration screw on it? If so get yourself some 400mV calibration solution from your local fish shop if they stock it or from Reefdreams here

3) The problem with ORP probes is they can be sensitive to any electrical equipment, so try as much as possible to keep it as far away from any of the pumps etc.
Also to avoid having the value skewed by the high ORP water that might be coming out of your skimmer, keep the probe away from the output of the skimmer. Ideally try and place it in the weir box so it's out of the way of most of your equipment.

Thanks m8, great bit of info,

The mv computer dos not have the calibration screw on it. now you mentioned it the prob is very close to the uv pump and water coming out of skimmer is gushing where the prob is. I was thinking to put it in the weir but wasn't sure, will do it now after given it a clean.
Many thanks again
Jon
__________________


NEW TANK VIDEO http://youtu.be/RYo-eUbHaqY

OLD TANK VIDEO: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oA15ahOWvww
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20-10-09, 00:55
basketcase687's Avatar
basketcase687 basketcase687 is offline
Angelfish
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Newport S.Wales
Posts: 887
Subz, sorry to be pain one more Q on a different matter,
I know someone selling a pair of maroon clowns and a Eibl's Angelfish whats your few on this fish when you look at my stock list, obviously if I do have maroons I will take the B&W clawns out of my tank.
Many thanks.
__________________


NEW TANK VIDEO http://youtu.be/RYo-eUbHaqY

OLD TANK VIDEO: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oA15ahOWvww
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20-10-09, 12:19
subz88 subz88 is offline
Triggerfish
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Harrow
Posts: 1,630
Replying in your other thread
__________________
Honey, does my aiptasia look big in this??? My tank thread here
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23-10-09, 18:56
basketcase687's Avatar
basketcase687 basketcase687 is offline
Angelfish
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Newport S.Wales
Posts: 887
[QUOTE=subz88;2919252]Hi Jon,

1) For easy cleaning, I leave the probe in a mug containing a solution of diluted thin bleach (I use 50% bleach to 50% Ro water) for five minutes, followed by white vinegar for another ten minutes. Place the probe in RO water afterwards to rinse off any cleansing chemicals. I usually do this once a month for peace of mind that my readings are correct.

2) Which mV computer is it (Aquamedic have two models), does it have a little calibration screw on it? If so get yourself some 400mV calibration solution from your local fish shop if they stock it or from Reefdreams here

3) The problem with ORP probes is they can be sensitive to any electrical equipment, so try as much as possible to keep it as far away from any of the pumps etc.
Also to avoid having the value skewed by the high ORP water that might be coming out of your skimmer, keep the probe away from the output of the skimmer. Ideally try and place it in the weir box so it's out of the way of most of your equipment.[/QUOTE




Hi Subz,
I have done this just like you said (For easy cleaning, I leave the probe in a mug containing a solution of diluted thin bleach (I use 50% bleach to 50% Ro water) for five minutes, followed by white vinegar for another ten minutes. Place the probe in RO water afterwards to rinse off any cleansing chemicals) After doing this the reading on the MV unit is showing 265 so from 447 to 265 a big difference. The probe is placed in the weir.
Thanks for your help I hope this is OK now, I will keep watching it.
__________________


NEW TANK VIDEO http://youtu.be/RYo-eUbHaqY

OLD TANK VIDEO: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oA15ahOWvww
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:41.




Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
UltimateReef.com - the UK's premier online reef keeping community. Bulletin Board & Forum.

Copyright 2001-2011 UltimateReef.com