UltimateReef.com

Go Back   UltimateReef.com > Community > Member's Tanks: > Medium

Medium (Display volume 31-100 gallons / 131-450 l) Add your tank details and pics here.

Reply Click here to Vote for this tank as TOTM

Old 20-02-12, 20:51
Clownfish

aquareef 300 - jay303

hello all

this is my build log on the aquareef 300,i will be keeping softies, lps and maybe some sps i will try a frag first and see how it goes. i have a rough plan on what fish im keeping but ill keep that secret for now . this will be my first big and sumped tank so im new to this part in the hobby but ive done plenty of research on sumps and i have decided that ill be runing in the 1st chamber filter flos/occasional bag of carbon/standard skimmer (may replace in time if it is rubbish), 2nd chamber heaters, 3rd chamber live rock and cheato with light, 4th chamber media reactor running rowa, and return pump. originally the plan was to buy dry rock and soak it and cure it but i decided to go with live rock mainly because straight from the get go ill have plenty of good biological filtartion and bacterier, and tbh i have had aiptasia/majano in my old tank and if you keep on top of all the pests its not a problem.
tomorrow will be picking up everything exept live rock, today i fitted my ro unit which is 50gpd and god its slow, but its nice that i dont have to drive 15 miles only to tear my arms of on the way out my lfs. also its piece of mind that i know whats going in the tank.

heres some pics of the ro unit and old tank to keep you happy for now

OLD TANK

RO UNIT FOR NEW TANK

job done now for a cup of tea
Old 20-02-12, 20:57
Cleaner Shrimp

Was your old tank a rio 240?
Old 20-02-12, 21:01
Clownfish

it was the rio 125.
Old 20-02-12, 21:07
Cleaner Shrimp

Yeah had a rio 240 for my first tank and i am just setting up an aquareef 300 now as well.
Theres a few reefers on here with them and lots of good tips and advice.
Good luck
Old 21-02-12, 20:47
Clownfish

quick update